TO: Staff Senate

FROM: Catherine Murphy

Secretary, Staff Senate

DATE: July 10, 2009

SUBJECT: Minutes from June 24, 2009 Meeting

In attendance: Mr. Barrett, Ms. Bealla, Mr. Cawley, Mr. Costello, Ms. Fetsko, Mr. Gaylets, Mr. Grigorescu, Mr. Harris, Mr. Hurst, Ms. Hynosky, Ms. Jachimowicz, Ms. Knott, Ms. McCrea, Ms. Murphy, Mr. Murphy, Ms. Newby, Ms. Rupp, Ms. Scramuzza, Mr. Skutnick, Ms. Stavisky, Mr. Wetherell, Ms. Winslow

The meeting began at 10:10 a.m. in the PNC Board Room at Brennan Hall with the opening welcome and prayer given by Ms. Bealla.

1. Mr. Murphy welcomed everyone and said that he was looking forward to an exciting second year. Mr. Gaylets will be voting for Mr. Parry, Ms. Bealla for Ms. Watson, Ms. Scramuzza for Ms. Gownley, Ms. Newby for Ms. Cullen-

6. Guest Presentation: Mr. Murphy was the guest speaker. He reviewed the role of the Staff Senate and gave an overview of the Senate's formation, structure and operation. He noted that we are a constitutional body that is part of the governance body of the University. He emphasized that we are not a decision making body. Mr. Murphy said that the Staff Senate Constitution and By-Laws are posted on our website.

7.

Mr. Murphy stated that the Staff Recognition & Awards Committee worked with Ms. Day and collected nominations for the Sursum Corda Award. The committee also developed the St. Francis Xavier Award.

Ms. Fetsko explained that members from various University departments and representatives of three senates serve as resource people on the Board of Trustees subcommittees. Members of the Staff Senate that sit on these committees are asked to report back to the senate any pertinent information.

Old Business:Old Business was tabled for this meeting

Mr. Murphy stated that mission statements from each of the committees need to be approved and put into the By-Laws. He asked Ms. Murphy to pull that data together.

Adjournment: Ms. Bealla motioned that the meeting be adjourned and Ms. Winslow seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 11:12 am.

Respectively Submitted by:

Carleine Neursphy

Catherine Murphy
Staff Senate Secretary